THE Public Service Commission Act, 1990 (Act 2 of 1990), was the second Act to be promulgated in the Republic of Namibia after independence. The Act came into force on 5 June 1990 after having been signed in terms of Article 56 of the Namibian Constitution by the President.

The Act provides for the establishment of a Public Service Commission in pursuance of the provisions of Chapter 13 of the Namibian Constitution.

The purpose of the PSC is to ensure adherence to Government policies, directives, regulations and ethical standards, as well as fairness and transparency within the Public Service. It is, furthermore aimed at providing objective, sound and professional advice to the government on the whole spectrum of personnel administration, so as to add value to the service and support the direction of the Government. Concomitant to its advisory powers, the PSC makes recommendations with regard to personal and non-personal personnel matters.

The key responsibilities of the Public Service Commission include the following:

● Dealing with grievances and disciplinary matters of public servants;
● Exercise the powers, functions and duties delegated by the President in respect of the employment,
● Remuneration and other conditions of service in general of persons in the employment of councils, boards, institutions or other bodies;

Advising the President and the Government on any matter in relation to:

● The appointment of suitable persons to specified categories of employment in the public service with special regard to the balanced structuring thereof;
● The exercise of adequate disciplinary control over such persons to assure the fair administration of personnel policy;
● The remuneration and the retirement benefits of any such persons;
● All other matters which by law pertain to the public service;
● The employment, remuneration or other conditions of service of functionaries whose remuneration or allowances derive wholly or partially from money appropriated by law:
● The identity, availability and suitability or persons to be appointed by the President to offices in terms of the Namibian Constitution or any other law.

The Public Service Commission has the power of inquiry in terms of which the Commission may summon any person and call and administer an oath or accept affirmation from any person.

The Public Service Act, 1995 (Act 13 of 1995) provides for both the recommendatory and advisory powers of the PSC.

The Prime Minister approves various matters on the recommendation/ advice of the PSC. In terms of Section 9 of the Public Service Act, after consultation with the PSC, the President may vary or reject such recommendations and the Prime Minister may vary or set aside such advice.

The Public Service Commission also makes recommendations on the following:

Directives, practices and systems created to give effect to both personal and non-personal Personnel Administration, Deviations from the above directives, practices and systems on the merit of individual cases, Appointment of the Auditor- General, the Governor and the Deputy Governor of the Central Bank, high ranking officials such as the Secretary to Cabinet, although in terms of Article 43 of the Namibian Constitution he is appointed and is deemed to have been so recommended by the PSC, Cabinet, Permanent Secretaries etc.

The Public Service Commission acts in an executive capacity in approving the rules of the Government Institutions Pensions Fund (GIPF).

It is also involved in the balanced structuring of the Public Service through the implementation of the Affirmative Action (Employment) Act, 1998 (Act 29 of 1998).

Apart from the above functions, the Commission also performs two crucial functions namely:

to act as an avenue for appeal for the public servants who have been aggrieved by unfair treatment and as check to possible abuse by Government in the personnel field by way of corruption, nepotism and plain unreasonableness; to help Government with all the problems inherent in the managing of the public service by giving wise advice: provided that the combined experience and wisdom of the Commission is appropriate to its new role and the independence of the Commission members is obvious to all.

Location of the Public Service Commission:

The Public Service Commission is located in the United House building, corner of Independence Avenue and Dr Frans Indongo Street in Windhoek.

Members of the Public Service Commission:

The following Members constitute the PSC:

Mr Eddie S AMKONGO Chairperson
Mr Markus KAMPUNGU Member
Ms Teckla LAMECK Member
Ms Florence Z MUNYUNGANO Member
Ms Magdalena W DEETLEFS Member
Mr Philemon K KAMBALA Member
Mr Stefanus MOTINGA Member

The Public Service Commission can be contacted at P O Box 1117, Windhoek, telephone (061) 2879111 and facsimile (061) 242391.